Timeless Whimsy

My little spot on the web. =)

Green Eggs and H-ameraucanas

on November 21, 2014

It’s been a while since I went for my morning walk but this morning I just decided to go do it. It was a short walk, but it was a walk nonetheless. :b I have really been regretting not doing it, but somehow I got out of the habit when hubby and I got sick last month and it’s been cold out in the early morning! So here’s to getting back on the wagon. =)

Oh, and I should probably tell you that hubby made these awesome cookies the other day and I can’t seem to stay out of them. :b Another reason.

My Christmas cards are basically finished. I just need to sit down and get them all assembled. It was all the parts that took the most time. I did put one together and they turned out super cute. I can’t wait to get them sent off!

It’s (almost) the most wonderful time of the year! I can’t wait until after Thanksgiving and we can start decorating for Christmas and baking. I’m sure my cats are looking forward to messing with the tree again. That is AFTER they decide it’s okay for it to be in the house! LOL Wish my girls were coming home for Christmas, that would make it perfect.

Chickens are doing well. I don’t think they like this cold rainy weather but they are still laying. We are getting about 30 eggs a week now. Our little Charlotte and Ladyhawke are the sweetest ameraucana chickens. Charlotte is laying pink/brown eggs and Ladyhawke is laying green eggs. Green eggs and ham, anyone? :b I had wondered if Dr. Seuss knew about the ameraucana eggs when he wrote Green Eggs and Ham, but was sure he wrote the book before the breed was developed. Sure enough. When I looked it up I found that the book was first published in 1960 and that was a good 10 years before the ameraucana was bred in the US from chickens imported from Chile. Those are your trivia facts for today. *nods*

 


Leave a comment